Foundation Board

The Honorable James B. Hunt, Jr.

Foundation Chair

Former Gov. Jim Hunt (1977-1985, 1993-2001) served four historic terms as governor of North Carolina. Under his leadership, North Carolina public schools improved test scores more than any other state in the 1990s according to the Rand Corporation. In 1999, Hunt called for the state to be first in America... Read More

Thomas Lambeth

Board Vice Chairman

A former assistant to the chairman of the state Democratic Party, Tom Lambeth helped to manage the campaigns of Terry Sanford for governor and John F. Kennedy for president. He assisted in establishing North Carolina’s community college system and the N.C. School of the Arts. After becoming the executive director... Read More

The Honorable Howard Lee

Board Secretary

Howard Lee spent his career in public service after receiving a master’s degree in social work from the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill. He served as mayor of Chapel Hill, ran for lieutenant governor, and served as secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and Community Development under Governor Jim... Read More

Samuel Houston

Board Treasurer

This former teacher, principal, school superintendent, and adjunct professor became president and CEO of the North Carolina Science, Mathematics, and Technology Education Center in 2003. The non-profit organization works to improve statewide performance for pre-kindergarten through high school students. Dr. Sam Houston was also the executive director of the North... Read More

The Honorable Roy Barnes

The Cobb County, Georgia resident won a seat in the state Senate two years after finishing law school. He was elected to the Senate eight times and later served in the state’s House of Representatives. After becoming Georgia’s 80th governor in 1999, Gov. Roy Barnes focused on lowering class size,... Read More

Randy Best

Randy Best has founded or acquired more than 100 privately or publicly held companies in a broad range of fields. Of those companies are Voyager Learning, which he co-founded and grew from a start-up to a successful education company, and Mason Best, a merchant banking firm which had offices in... Read More

Enriqueta Bond

Dr. Enriqueta Bond retired as President of the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, a private foundation whose mission is to advance the medical sciences through the support of research and education. Bond is a founding partner of QE Philanthropic Advisors and now consults with philanthropic and non-profit organizations on program development and... Read More

The Honorable Don Carcieri

Governor Don L. Carcieri was inaugurated as Rhode Island's 57th Governor on January 7, 2003. Under his direction, Governor Carcieri led efforts to instill greater accountability and higher standards for Rhode Island schools, and launched a number of initiatives to improve math and science education. In 2005, he committed Rhode... Read More

Mimi Clarke Corcoran

Mimi Corcoran is President and CEO of National Center for Learning Disabilities (NCLD), where she leads NCLD and its efforts to improve the lives of the 1 in 5 Americans nationwide with learning and attention issues.  Mimi has built a reputation as an innovator and change leader in the nonprofit... Read More

The Honorable Walter Dalton

Born in 1949, Walter Dalton grew up in Rutherford County where his father practiced law, operated a small business, and served the area in the North Carolina senate and where his mother taught school.  His father died unexpectedly when Walter was eight and his mother, sister, and a caring community... Read More

The Honorable Mitch Daniels

Governor Mitchell E. Daniels Jr. was elected as the 49th Governor of the State of Indiana in 2004, in his first bid for any elected office. He is a former president of Eli Lilly and Company’s North American Operations and CEO of the Hudson Institute. His roles in government include... Read More

The Honorable Jim Douglas

Jim Douglas served Vermont for more than 35 years, beginning in the Vermont House of Representatives, including three years as majority leader. He was elected secretary of state in 1980, where he stayed for 12 years, and was elected state treasurer in 1994, where he served for eight years. Jim... Read More

Robert Eaves, Jr.

Bob Eaves is a successful small businessman, including having served as CEO of The Right Stuff Food Stores. A 1958 graduate of the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, Eaves serves on the board of the Public School Forum of North Carolina. To improve educational leadership and to honor... Read More

Joel Fleishman

Joel Fleishman joined the faculty of Duke University in 1971, combining his background in public policy and law as founding director of the Sanford School of Public Policy. He became first senior vice president in 1991. From 1993 until 2003, Fleishman took a part-time leave from Duke University to serve... Read More

Laura Fornash

Laura Fornash serves as a Senior Vice President at McGuireWoods Consulting, assisting clients with policy and legislative matters with a particular focus on education issues at the state and federal level. Prior to joining McGuire Woods, Laura spent the past 27 years in public service including working in leadership roles... Read More

Maurice “Mo” Green

Maurice “Mo” Green is the executive director of the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation. Mo works alongside ZSR Trustees and staff to spearhead the Foundation’s efforts to improve the quality of life for all North Carolinian's. He also works with leaders in the private, public and nonprofit sectors to develop best... Read More

J. Jackson Hoke

Jack Hoke is the executive director of the North Carolina School Superintendent Association and an adjunct professor at Gardner-Webb University in Boiling Springs, NC. His distinguished years of service in education began in Lenoir, NC, serving as a high school teacher and coach, and then later as an assistant principal... Read More

Robert Ingram

His career began as a professional sales representative, and then he rose to CEO/chairman of GlaxoWellcome. He co-led the merger and integration forming GlaxoSmithKline. Upon retiring, he was asked by the board to serve as vice chairman of Pharmaceuticals at GSK. Robert Ingram also serves as chairman of OSI Pharmaceuticals,... Read More

Judith Kelley Ph.D.

Dr. Judith Kelley is the Terry Sanford Professor of Public Policy and Professor of Political Science and the Senior Associate Dean at the Duke Sanford School of Public Policy. She is also a senior fellow with the Kenan Institute for Ethics. Dean Kelley's work focuses on how states, international organizations, and... Read More

The Honorable Michael Lee

Former North Carolina Senator, Michael Lee, joined The Hunt Institute’s Board of Directors in the spring of 2019. While in the Senate, Lee chaired the Education Committee, the Appropriations Subcommittee on Education and the Legislative Ethics Committee. As Chair of the Education Committee, Lee chaired The Hunt Institute’s 2018 Holshouser Legislators... Read More

Delia Pompa

Delia Pompa is Senior Fellow for Education Policy at MPI’s National Center on Immigrant Integration Policy where her work focuses on research and policy analysis related to improving educational services for immigrant students and English Language Learners (ELLs). Prior to joining MPI, Pompa was at the National Council of La Raza (NCLR), where... Read More

The Honorable Jamie Woodson

Jamie Woodson sets the strategic vision for SCORE as executive chairman and chief executive officer and leads SCORE’s executive team and the organization’s efforts to build and strengthen partnerships with leaders in Tennessee and across the nation. She has been a leading figure in spearheading Tennessee’s efforts to better prepare students for... Read More